Brakes

• Burlingame
  • Burlingame's Avatar Topic Author
More
10 Nov 2016 12:54 #19360 by Burlingame
Brakes was created by Burlingame
I am planning on changing the rotors and pads on my 1985 928 S. I have never done this before and was wondering if anyone has a recommendation for a brand of brake bleeder. I am going to start with the front rotors and pads and do the back as time permits. I searched you tube for videos but did not find anything specific to my year and model. I have already ordered the rotors and pads.

Other than the brake bleeder are their any other specific tools recommended.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Nov 2016 19:14 #19364 by Spencer
Replied by Spencer on topic Brakes
Why the bleeder not needed unless you introduce air into the lines or are exchanging calipers , simply depress the pads install the new pads and pump pedal to seat the new pads in place, simple no bleeder tools needed 20+ year master tech ASE certified.

• Burlingame
  • Burlingame's Avatar Topic Author
More
10 Nov 2016 20:16 #19369 by Burlingame
Replied by Burlingame on topic Brakes
Thanks Spencer,
I will be replacing the rotors also and thought I would flush the brake fluid since I just bought the car this year and have no idea when it was last done.

More
11 Nov 2016 00:11 #19370 by Spencer
Replied by Spencer on topic Brakes
OK here is how to flush the brakes.
1 lift vehicle.
2 remove wheels
3 get a water bottle the kind you drink from, empty
4 fill bottle about 2in with fresh brake fluid, replace cap poke a hole in the cap, large enough to pass a vacuum line through.
5push line through hole in cap, making sure that the line is secure below the fluid line , now take the exposed lineage attach it to your R/R L/R R/F L/F.
6 START WITH THE CALIPER FARTHEST FROM THE MASTER CYLINDER.